Home » PSL T20 » Islamabad United Became the First PSL T20 Champions

Islamabad United Became the First PSL T20 Champions

The first season of Pakistan Super League just got their champions as Islamabad United after winning the grand finale against Quetta Gladiators. It was wonderful atmosphere at Dubai Cricket Stadium. Both teams supporter from all over the world enjoyed the entertainment of PSL Final. Misbah-ul-Haq the captain of United made history last night.


Earlier yesterday United won the toss and invited Quetta to bat first. In the first over Gladiators lost their 1st wicket as Bismillah Khan on Duck. Ahmed Shehzad and Kevin Pietersen started to build a partnership but in 6th over pietersen also got out. Than the Sri Lankan star cricketer Kumar Sangakkara came to the crease and take the score to 68/2 in 10 overs.

Sangakkara completed his half century in just 30 balls and gave the momentum they needed. He built a partnership of 87 runs on 56 balls for third wicket and got out. Just after that Shehzad made his fifty in 35 balls and contributed 64 runs in 39 balls to the team score. Till 20 overs Quetta managed to put 174 runs on the board on a loss of 7 wickets.

PSL Winner Islamabad United

Islamabad  need 175 runs in 20 overs to win the Pakistan Super League final. Sharjeel Khan and Dwayne Smith comes to the crease to open the inning for the Islamabad. Both the batsman batted responsibly and managed to score 46/0 in 5 overs with lot of boundaries. Sharjeel got bowled out in the 6th over but smith continued his inning and completed his half-century in just 32 balls. After 10 overs in United scored 83 runs on a loss of 1 wicket.

With the wonderful inning of Dyane smith of 73 runs from 51 balls and Brad Haddin 61 runs on 39 balls Islamabad united won the PSL Final and became the first ever champion of Pakistan Super League 2016. The team was at no. 4 position in the points table before the play-offs and now they are the PSL winner.

Now all the team members who are selected for Pakistan team squad will join Bangladesh for for Asia Cup 2016 starting from 24 February .

PSL 2016 Records :

  1. Total Sixes : 209
  2. Total Fours : 501
  3. Runs Smashed :6344
  4. Wickets : 259
  5. Individual Player Century : 1 (Sharjeel Khan)
  6. Highest Team Score : 203 by Quetta Gladiators against Lahore Qalandar
  7. Top Run Scorer : Umar Akmal (335 Runs)
  8. PSL 2016 Winner : Islamabad United

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *