Home » IPL 2017 » League Matches » Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Super Giants T20 Match 1st IPL 2016

Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Super Giants T20 Match 1st IPL 2016

The first match of IPL 2016 will be played between defending champion Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Supergiants. Indian Premier League 9 is staring from 9th April to 29th May 2016. Total eight teams will be participating in this season among which two teams are new Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants. Though the RPS is debuting from MI vs RPS match in IPL 2016, but still is speculated as favorite. The live score card of the match is given below.

Mumbai Indians are the defending champion and have also won the title in 2013. The initial two seasons were depressing for the team as the they were restricted to league stage only despite of having some of the greatest cricketer on their side like Sachin Tendulkar, Lasith Malinga, Sanath Jaisurya and many more. But MI showed progress from the third season and were runner-up in 2010 and finally became the champions in 2013 for the first time. Rohit Sharma has been the most successful captain for the side and this year also he will be captaining the MI squad.


Rising Pune Supergiants will be playing their first match of the IPL T20. RPS along with Gujarat lions are two new teams replacing the suspended teams Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals for two years. Most of the CSK players are included in the Pune squad and Mahendra Singh Dhoni is declared as the captain for the team who had been leading CSK earlier. Here is the team squads of both the team for the upcoming Mumbai vs Pune first T20 Match of the Indian Premier League 2016.

Mumbai Indians squad: Akshay Wakhare, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, Hardik Pandya, J Suchitch, Jasprit Bumrah, Nitish Rana, Parthiv Patel, Ranganath Vinay Kumar, Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shreyas Gopal, Siddhesh Dinesh Lad, Nathu Singh, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Punia, Kishore Kamath, Jiten Shrama, Unmukt Chand, Corey Anderson, Keiron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Lendl Simmons, Marchant de Lange, Mitchell McClenaghan, Tim Southee, Jos Buttler.

Rising Pune Supergiants squad: MS Dhoni (Captain), Ankit Sharma, Baba Aparajith, Ravichandran Ashwin, Murugan Ashwin, Ankush Bains, Rajat Bhatia, Scott Boland, Deepak Chahar, Ashok Dinda, Francoisdu Plessis, Peter Handscomb, Jaskaran Singh, Mitchell Marsh, Albie Morkel,  Ishwar Pandey, Irfan Pathan, ThisaraPerera, Kevin Pietersen, Ajinkya Rahane, Ishant Sharma, RP Singh, Steve Smith, Saurabh Tiwary, Adam Zampa

Match 1st MI vs RPS IPL 2016
Mumbai-Indians                VsRising Pune Supergiants
VenueWankhede, Mumbai
Date9th April 2016
Time8:00 pm (Local Time)
TossMI won the toss and Choose to bat First

The Live score and the scorecard of the match will be included here just after match starts.

MI: 121/8 in 20 overs

RPS: 126/1 in 14.4 overs

Player of the Match: Ajinkya Rahane

Match Result : Pune Supergiants won the match by 9 wickets in 14.4 overs

Here is the MI vs RPS match Scorecard :-

Mumbai Indians Innings :-
EXTRAS(w 12, lb 1)13
TOTAL(8 wickets; 20 overs)121
RPS Bowling :-
Rising Pune Supergiants Innings :
EXTRAS(nb 1, w 3, lb 1)5
TOTAL(1 wickets; 14.4 overs)126

MI Bowling :-


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *