Home » IPL Records » IPL Winners and Runner-ups of Each Season: Team who Won the Title so far

IPL Winners and Runner-ups of Each Season: Team who Won the Title so far

Indian premier league is an Indian based T20 cricket where cricketer from all around the world, from different countries take part every year in the month of April and May. 2008 was the year when IPL was started for the first time and from then craze of the tournament increasing year by year in the cricket lovers. Now the question arises who are the teams which have won the IPL title so far. Total 8 season of Indian premier league are over and we have 5 IPL winners so far 4 runner-up teams. There are 3 teams which have won the trophy two times and they are Chennai Super Kings in 2010 & 2011, Kolkata Knight Riders in 2012 & 2014, Mumbai Indians in 2013 & 2014. From 9th April 2016 another season of grand tournament will start and we will have one more team which will be added in the IPL winners and runner up list.

IPL winner team

Total 8 teams participate in the league every year and out of which 4 teams qualified to the play-offs. From there 2 finalist play the grand finale and the one who won the grand battle, crowned with the IPL Title each year. In 2016 two new team will participate in place of CSK and RR as they got banned due to fixing issues. So the two previous IPL winning team will not be part of Indian premier league this year.

Here are the Full List of Teams who won the IPL title in each IPL season with the runner-up team:

SeasonWinning TeamRunner-up TeamResult
2008Rajasthan Royals
164/7 (20 overs)
163/5 (20 overs)
RR won by 3 wickets
2009Deccan Chargers
143/6 (20 overs)
137/9 (20 overs)
DC won by 6 runs
2010Chennai Super Kings
168/5 (20 overs)
146/9 (20 overs)
CSK won by 22 runs
2011Chennai Super Kings
205/5 (20 overs)
147/8 (20 overs)
CSK won by 58 runs
2012Kolkata Knight Riders
192/5 (19.4 overs)
190/3 (20 overs)
KKR won by 5 wickets
2013Mumbai Indians
148/9 (20 overs)
125/9 (20 overs)
MI won by 23 runs
2014Kolkata Knight Riders
200/7 (20 overs)
199/4 (20 overs)
KKR won by 3 wickets
2015Mumbai Indians
202/5 (20 overs)
161/8 (20 overs)
MI won by 41 runs
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad
208/7 in 20 overs
200/7 in 20 overs
SRH won by 8 Runs


  1. We want KXIP in the finals

  2. This year Pune team will won ….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *