Home » T20 World Cup » 2016 » Women » Teams » Australia Women squad announced for T20 World Cup 2016

Australia Women squad announced for T20 World Cup 2016

Gearing up for their fourth consecutive T20 World Cup title, Australia Women squad has been announced. The team will take part in the upcoming world event to be held in India starting from 15 March to 3 April 2016. The tournament will run simultaneously with Men’s T20 World Cup.


Australian team has won three consecutive world title of t20 (2010, 2012 and 2014) which is highest number of times by any other women team and is at top position in the ICC ranking table . Though they have lost their t20 series to India in January 2016, the players are anxious to take revenge in Indian soil by repeating the history and making title into their name. Meg Lanning will be the captain for the playing squad. This time Australia has been placed in Group A with Ireland, South Africa, New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

Australia Women Squad:

  1. Meg Lanning (capt)
  2. Alex Blackwell (vice-capt)
  3. Kristen Beams
  4. Lauren Cheatle
  5. Sarah Coyte
  6. Rene Farrell
  7. Holly Ferling
  8. Grace Harris
  9. Alyssa Healy (wk)
  10. Jess Jonassen
  11. Beth Mooney
  12. Erin Osborne
  13. Ellyse Perry
  14. Megan Schutt
  15. Elyse Villani

Match schedule for T20 World Cup:

18 March 2016, Friday- AUS vs SA (Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur)

21 March 2016, Monday- AUS vs NZ (Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur)

24 March 2016, Thursday- AUS vs SL (Kotla, Delhi)

26 March 2016, Saturday- AUS vs IRE (Kotla, Delhi)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *