Home » T20 World Cup » 2016 » Men » Matches » Qualfier 1st: Zimbabwe vs Hong Kong T20 World Cup 2016 Live Score

Qualfier 1st: Zimbabwe vs Hong Kong T20 World Cup 2016 Live Score

The inauguration of the T20 World Cup 2016 will start with the first Qualifier match between Zimbabwe vs Hong Kong on 8 March at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Jamtha, Nagpur . The fifth edition of the World T20 will be started with a qualifier round between Group A and B, the two qualifier team with most win in their account in their respective groups will proceed to Super 10 round which will start from March 15 2016.

Zimbabwe and Hong Kong both are in Group B along with Afghanistan and Scotland. Group A consists of Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands and Oman. At the end of qualifying round, the winner of Group B will be placed in Group 1 with England, South Africa, West Indies and Sri Lanka whereas the team with highest win in Group A will placed with Australia, India, New Zealand and Pakistan in Group 2.

You can check qualifier points table of T20 world cup here.


Hong Kong vs Zimbabwe T20 World Cup 2016

Zimbabwe team will be led by captain Hamilton Masakadza. The squad for t20 world cup 2016 marks the return of its senior player Tendai Chatara and Tinashe Panyangara. They had participated in 4 t20 world cup tournament , and played 9 matches with winning percentage of 33.33 (won 3 matches) and lost 6 matches. The team is placed on 14th position in ICC top team ranking table.

Hong Kong will like to leave their bad memories of last Asia Cup 2016, where the team lost all its 3 matches in the Asia Cup qualifier round and could not progress further. The team has been able to qualify for the world event only once that is on 2014  where they won against Bangladesh with 2 balls remaining but could not make their way to super 10. Tanvir Afzal will captain the team for the event. Here is the team squad of both the teams for the upcoming 1st Qualifier match of T20 World cup 2016.


Zimbabwe Team Squad:

  1. Sean Williams
  2. Tendai Chatara
  3. Wellington Masakadza
  4. Tinashe Panyangara
  5. Hamilton Masakadza (captain)
  6. Peter Moor
  7. Elton Chigumbura
  8. Sikandar Raza Butt
  9. Richmond Mutumbami (wk)
  10. Luke Jongwe
  11. Tendai Chisoro
  12. Neville Madziva
  13. Malcolm Waller
  14. Vusumuzi Sibanda
  15. Graeme Cremer

Hong Kong Team Squad:

  1. Tanwir Afzal (Captain)
  2. Anshuman Rath
  3. Babar Hayat
  4. Christopher Carter
  5. Haseeb Amjad
  6. Nizakat Khan
  7. Waqas Khan
  8. Aizaz Khan
  9. James Atkinson (Wicket Keeper)
  10. Ryan Campbell
  11. Mark Chapman
  12. Nadeem Ahmed
  13. Kinchit Shah
  14. Waqas Barkat
  15. Tanveer Ahmed

Here is the details of the 1st Qualifier Match of T20 World cup 2016:

  • Date: 8/03/2016
  • Match: ZIM vs HK
  • Venue: VCA Stadium, Nagpur
  • Tournament: World Twenty20 2016
  • Round: Qualifiers
  • Toss: Hong Kong Won the toss and opted to field first.

Live score :

Zim: 158/8 in 20 overs

HK: 144/6 in 20 overs

Match Result: Zimbabwe won the match by 14 runs

We will cover all the live score of the match and ball by ball score here. So keep visiting cricket99.com for all the updates from world cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *