Home » T20 World Cup » 2016 » Women » Matches » New Zealand women vs West Indies women 2nd Semi Final WC T20 2016

New Zealand women vs West Indies women 2nd Semi Final WC T20 2016

The 2nd semifinal of Women’s T20 world cup 2016 will be played on 31 March 2016 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai between New Zealand Women vs West Indies Women. None of the team have ever won the WC T20 so both the team will be looking to grab the opportunity and make possible it this time.Though New Zealand was able to reach finals of 2009 and 2010 T20 world cups.

New zealand women vs West Indies women

Like men’s team New Zealand women’s team has qualified for semifinals by leading the group A in point table. The team has remained unbeaten in the WC T20 2016 so far. They have won convincingly all the group stage match. Suzie Bates along with England team captain Charlotte Edwards is the highest run scorer in the tournament. She has scored 171 runs and her best in the tournament was against Ireland where she scored 82  runs off 60 balls. In bowling department too, the highest wicket taker is from New Zealand team, Leigh Kasperek is leading the chart by taking 9 wickets with an average of 6.77 and economy 3.93.

It is fourth time when West Indies women team have qualified for semi final of t20 world cup. Since 2010 they have continuously reached to this stage but could not make their journey to move forward and have ended the tournament at 4th position. The team will surely be eager to break this flow this time and enter the final. They are at second position in their group B and has won three matches against India, Bangladesh and Pakistan. The only match they have lost was against England who has qualified for semifinals and will play against Australia.

Here is the team squad for both the team and from where playing eleven will be selected for NZw vs WIw T20 Match :-

New Zealand Squad: Suzie Bates (captain), Sophie Devine, Erin Bermingham, Leigh Kasperek, Felicity Leydon-Davis, Sara McGlashan, Katey Martin, Thamsyn Newton, Morna Nielsen, Katie Perkins, Anna Peterson, Rachel Priest, Hannah Rowe, Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu

West Indies Squad: Stafanie Taylor (capt), Shakera Selman, Merissa Aguilleira, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilla Connell, Britney Cooper, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Stacy-Ann King, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Hayley Matthews, Anis a Mohammed, Shaquana Quintyne, Tremayne Smartt

Semifinal 2: New Zealand Women vs West Indies Women, Live score
Women’s Semifinal2 New Zealand vs West Indies:T20 World Cup 2016 Live Score                 VsWomen’s Semifinal2 New Zealand vs West Indies:T20 World Cup 2016 Live Score
VenueWankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Date31st March 2016
Time2:30 pm (Local Time)
TossNZw won the toss and choose to ball first

Stay tune with us for all the live score of the match which will start at 2:30 pm on 31st March  2016, so till then just keep visiting our site for all the updates from ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2016.

Live score :

WIw: 143/6 in 20 overs

NZw: 137/8 in 10 overs

Match Result : West Indies women won the match by 6 runs and entered into the finals of Women’s T20 World Cup 2016.

Here is the scorecard of the Match :-

West Indies Women innings (20 overs maximum)RMB4s6sSR
HK Matthewslbw b Nielsen1681420114.28
SR Taylor*c Perkins b Devine2543262096.15
B Cooperc †Priest b Devine61604852127.08
DJS Dottinb Devine20231720117.64
SACA Kingc Satterthwaite b Devine41150080.00
MR Aguilleira†not out15111010150.00
SA Campbellerun out (Satterthwaite/†Priest)02000
Extras(w 2)2
Total(6 wickets; 20 overs)143(7.15 runs per over)


MJG Nielsen401413.50
LMM Tahuhu2021010.50
LM Kasperek3030010.00
EM Bermingham302408.00
SFM Devine402245.50(2w)
SW Bates2021010.50
AE Satterthwaite201105.50


New Zealand Women innings (target: 144 runs from 20 overs)RMB4s6sSR
SW Bates*c Quintyne b Fletcher1233171070.58
RH Priest†b Connell610101060.00
SFM Devinerun out (Dottin)22191440157.14
SJ McGlashanc Campbelle b Taylor38393020126.66
AE Satterthwaitec Campbelle b Taylor2434291082.75
KJ Martinnot out1118810137.50
KT Perkinsc Dottin b Quintyne2530066.66
LM Kasperekst †Aguilleira b Taylor64600100.00
EM Berminghamrun out (Cooper/†Aguilleira)86410200.00
Extras(lb 1, w 6, nb 1)8
Total(8 wickets; 20 overs)137(6.85 runs per over)


SS Connell302217.33(2w)
DJS Dottin402907.25(4w)
HK Matthews201809.00(1nb)
ASS Fletcher402015.00
A Mohammed1010010.00
SR Taylor402636.50
SL Quintyne201115.50 

Now West Indies women will battle against Australia Women in the final of T20 World Cup 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *