Home » IPL 2017 » League Matches » Kings XI Punjab vs Gujarat Lions T20 Match 3rd IPL 2016

Kings XI Punjab vs Gujarat Lions T20 Match 3rd IPL 2016

The third match of the IPL 9 will mark the debut of a new team Gujarat Lions. The team will be playing their first match on 11th April 2016 Kings XI Punjab vs Gujarat Lions at PCA stadium Mohali. Lions is one of the replacements for  the suspended teams CSK and RR for two years. The two teams have been suspended for their alleged role in match fixing and betting scandal. Though GL is a new team but underestimating any team especially in t20 format can be dangerous. Keep yourself updated with the live score of KXIP vs GL IPL 2016.


Kings XI Punjab is one of the teams whose performance has never met expectations of its fans. The team has participated in all the previous eight seasons and has proceeded to play off stage only twice. In 2008 season the team managed to make a place in semis whereas ended as runner-up in 2014. For coming IPL 2016 team has retained 14 of its player. David Miller is announced as the captain and Virendra Sehwag as mentor for KXIP.

Gujarat Lions is making its debut in Indian Premier League 2016. Former CSK player Suresh Raina will be leading the team. The team looked strong on papers as it includes Brendom McCullum, James Faulkner, Dwayne Bravo and Ravindra Jadeja and if the GL managed to perform on the fields according to their names then it will surely give a tough competition to the opponents.

KXIP vs GL match 1st

Here is a brief look into the squad of both teams for Punjab vs Gujarat match 3rd of IPL 9.

Kings XI Punjab Squad: David Miller (Captain), Kyle Abbott, Anureet Singh, Armaan Jaffer, Farhaan Behardien, KC Cariappa, Rishi Dhawan, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Nikhil Naik, Axar Patel, Wriddhiman Saha, Pardeep Sahu, Sandeep Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Marcus Stoinis, Swapnil Singh, Shardul Thakur, Murali Vijay

Gujarat Lions Squad: Suresh Raina, Akshdeep Nath, Dwayne Bravo, Aaron Finch, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Dinesh Karthik, Shivil Kaushik, Dhawal Kulkarni, Praveen Kumar, Brendon McCullum, Pradeep Sangwan, Jaydev Shah, Umang Sharma, Dwayne Smith, Dale Steyn, Pravin Tambe, Andrew Tye

Match 3rd KXIP vs GL IPL 2016
KXIP                VsGujarat-Lions-Logo
VenuePunjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali
Date11th April 2016
Time8:00 pm (Local Time)
TossGujarat Lions and opt to ball first

We all are waiting for the day when the match starts and will update all the live score card with update of each and every ball here. Till then just check out the IPL Schedule for 2016 here.

KXIP vs GL Score :

KXIP: 161/6 in 20 overs

GL: 162/5 in 17.4 overs

Match Result: Gujarat Lions won the match by 5 wickets

Man of the Match: Aaron finch for his 74 runs in 47 balls

Full Match Scorecard:

Kings XI Punjab Innings :-

EXTRAS(w 4, b 1, lb 2)7
TOTAL(6 wickets; 20 overs)161

Gujarat Lions Bowling :-


GL Innings:

EXTRAS(w 3, lb 3)6
TOTAL(5 wickets; 17.4 overs)162

KXIP Bowling:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *