Home » Cricket Series » Asia Cup 2016 » Team Squads » Bangladesh Cricket Team for T20 Asia Cup 2016 Declared

Bangladesh Cricket Team for T20 Asia Cup 2016 Declared

Bangladesh cricket team squad is declared for the T20 Asia Cup 2016 starting from 24 February to 6 March 2016. This is the fifth time when Bangladesh is hosting this event. This time Asia Cup will be played in T20 format instead of 50 overs match due to upcoming T20 World Cup 2016, to be held in India.

India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the other teams which will be participating in Asia Cup 2016. The fifth team will be decided after the qualification round between Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Oman and United Arab Emirates, starting from 19th February 2016.

The best performance of Bangladesh Team in Asia Cup is in 2011 when they reached to the final, but lost by 2 runs against Pakistan. But last year 2015, has been a great year for the team which has surprised everyone with their performance. The team had shown a huge growth by wining series against India, South Africa and Pakistan. The players are very positive for tournament and seeking their first Asia Cup victory.


There are no major changes in the team combination except one that is opening batsman Imrul Kayes has been selected in place of Tamim Iqbal. Tamim Iqbal has opted out as he is expecting his first child soon.

Bangladesh Cricket Team Squad : 
Here is the list of players selected for the T20 Asia Cup 2016 and also for T20 World Cup 2016
  1. Mashrafe Mortaza (captain)
  2. Shakib Al Hasan
  3. Imrul Kayes
  4. Mohammad Mithun
  5. Mahmudullah
  6. Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper)
  7. Soumya Sarkar
  8. Sabbir Rahman
  9. Nasir Hossain
  10. Mustafizur Rahman
  11. Al-Amin Hossain
  12. Taskin Ahmed
  13. Arafat Sunny
  14. Abu Hider
  15. Nurul Hasan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *